top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJody Williams

20 Reasons why Torontonian should Vote for your Mayor, Mrs Jody Williams on June 26, 2023.



First of all I would like to Royally Honor Ana Bailao for believing in me the moment I desired to sponsored my family to Canada in the year 2012, In times like these there was no one to lean on, but I was referred to Ana by Frank D'mico and she did her best to advocate to Jamaica with her MP powers on my behalf to make sure that my family was reunited with me here in Canada.


I would also like to thank my employer Plan  International Canada  for believing in my dreams, When I said in my interview that I wanted to become a entrepreneur, With these powerful words HR manager Debbie gave me the opportunity to work with Plan international voluntarily in 2011, Connected through the youth in motion program for women empowerment.

It is my honor to have work alongside with Joan Farzone and the team in the child operation department, I must  Confess that this was my first ever professional job working as a new   immigrant Migrated from London England, at the age of 21 years old

 

In 2011  When I first started working with plan I was living in the shelter Humewood House Which is now currently closed, with  my newborn son Romel Williams-laing Who is currently now a professional actor with Actra Union,   And my two-year-old son living with my husband in Jamaica at the time, I was desperately in need of a job so I could sponsor my family to Canada,

plan Canada is the  Foundation to my happiness And piece of mine.  I am proud to say that My family is now reunited and we are very proud to be a Plan Canada success story.

 I always believed in my heart that Plan Canada mission and dream for the children across the world was very important 

and that's why I put out so much effort and time to make sure that all those children that I validated was approved for sponsorship


In my heart i always wanted to be able to give back or donate to a child in Plan Canada  Organization but throughout my  life journey it wasn't 100% possible to do so, however now I feel the urge to help Plan Canada  With all the connections and resources that I have acquired over the last 11 years, by  Meeting the honorable Justin Trudeau At my graduation from the George Brown College  Campus Where I studied creative writing.


After my graduation I was inspired to become an actress and a model, so I incorporated My talents of being a hairdresser and a fashion designer by Involving both me and my children and husband in became the acting family for Actra Union. 


The motivation of completing auditions granted us our 1st credit's when McDonald's Hand picked my son romario Laing to support the Mc Happy Family Day charity in 2014.


Since then we never stopped acting now we are producing our own content in our upcoming mission of supporting the coffee farmers around the world through my corporation.

 As we all know the covid 19 pandemic was a disaster for many companies, however I had the opportunity of working alongside with Lululemon during in the Olympics games

 

I was hired because of my expertise in law because in that same time frame the company Lululemon  were getting sued by Nike and it was all over the media

I was honored To take on the challenge because I had all the experience that they needed for the job, 


In 2015 i return home back to England to My father's funeral, He was very sickly for many years with kidney problems but I did not had the opportunity to care for him in person.


However I am the only Descendant that was Representing myself as a litigant in person in the probate court, so the Honorable Judge Master Price stated that intesticity applied to all of my father estates discovered both in England and Jamaica.


 At the age of 25 years old I did not expected to have inherited so much properties lands from both my grandmother from the Maroon tribes of Jamaica and my Jewish grandfather mayor Mataland who is the founder of many building of the Jamaican Infrastructure.

 

Looking back now I realize how important I am to society, I really want to take this Royal Crown to give back to the people who have been there for me over the years when I didn't know My true purpose in life when I came to Canada.


 Unification is the key to success and we can definitely make the world a better place by suppling food to people who are hungry and ineed of stability.



 Jody Williams campaign for Toronto Mayor is based on The fact that all  residents or citizen that are currently now living in affordable housing should have the right  To own their property after 7 years At a affordable price for example a three bedroom should be given a proposal letter of $50,000 Canadian dollars.


The government of Canada should give all residents a proposal letter To own there  Property at a  affordable price, based on the fact that we are a part of the Commonwealth and in London England there is a program that's called council flat And the people who have been a part of this program has been very successfulIn owning their properties by enabling parents to pass there homes on to there children.


Secondly a lot of Permanent residents who are now living in the city of Toronto are not permitted to vote or even   Be counted in the Censes we currently don't know how much people are living in Toronto so I am advocating for the residents to have the right to to vote in the upcoming elections. But in order for them to do so they would have to be a citizen of the land so I'm advocating to the federal government to Grant all residents the right to citizenship my 2024.


I believe it is Ana responsibility to make sure that we the immigrants who she had advocate for to live in Canada, Ana should be granted the opportunity to continue her phenomenal job by provide a beautiful home and life style for the Torontonians citizens and residents.


Jody Williams

131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page